Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)

ULA Menu
About ULA
Participating Universities
Other Borrowing Schemes
FAQ for borrowers
Guidelines
Aids for Library Staff
Documents & Surveys
ULA  Home
CAUL Home

University Library Australia
a national borrowing scheme for students and staff

Updated 18 August, 2008

The History of University Library Australia

University Library Australia came into effect 1 July 2001.

The following documents provide the background to its establishment.

CAUL Strategic Plan March, 1999
"2. Establish a framework and develop a business model for a national universities borrowing scheme."

Issues paper presented at CAUL Meeting November, 1999 - Alison Ransome (Southern Cross University)

Outline of current regional schemes in place to November 1999.

Proposal to CAUL - March, 2001 - Alison Ransome (Southern Cross University)

  • CAUL agreed to establish a National Borrowing Scheme from 1 July 2001
  • CAUL Members agreed to indemnify other CAUL insitutions for their own defaulting borrowers
  • Working Group established 8 March 2001, meeting 2-3 April 2001
    • Membership
      • Alison Ransome <aransome@alsvid.scu.edu.au>, Chair
      • Beth Marnane <Beth.Marnane@uts.edu.au>, University of Technology, Sydney
      • Diane Costello <diane.costello@caul.edu.au>, CAUL, Convenor
      • Imogen Garner <igarner@library.uwa.edu.au>, University of Western Australia
      • Jan Gordon <j.gordon@adfa.edu.au>, Australian Defence Force Academy, UNSW
      • Judy Stokker, Queensland University of Technology replaced in 2002 by Sharon Lenord, <slenord@usc.edu.au>  University of the Sunshine Coast as QULOC representative.
      • Stephen Beaumont <stephen.beaumont@adelaide.edu.au>, University of Adelaide
      • Tony Arthur <aja@unimelb.edu.au>, University of Melbourne replaced in 2004 by David Black, Deakin University
Review of ULA, July-September, 2002

[CAUL Home Page] [What's New] [Information Providers - offers to CAUL]
[Survey Register] [Conference Register] [Highlights from the Press]
[Australian University Web Sites] [Other Web Sites] [Web Search Tools]

This site's URL is http://www.caul.edu.au/
Send comments/suggestions/requests about this site ....

This site is written, compiled and maintained by Diane Costello, Executive Officer, CAUL.