Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)

Directory of Australian University Committees, 
Councils of Deans, Chairs, Heads of Departments

Updated 19 February, 2010

This is constantly a work in progress - if you have any updates, please advise the CAUL Office
ASCILITE  (Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education) President (2003)
Helen Carter
University of Wollongong
Professor Brian Stone
President (2003)
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Mechanical &
University of Western Australia
35 Stirling Highway, Crawley, WA
Years on Executive:    2
Phone number: +61 893803120
Fax Number:  +61 893801024
E-mail address: 
Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) President (11/2/09)
Professor Tim Brailsford
Head UQ Business School
The University of Queensland
Email: Professor Tim Brailsford
Karissa Douglass
Executive Officer
Telephone: +61 (0) 410 642 027
Email: ABDC Secretariat
Australian Council of Deans of Agriculture (ACDA) President (2010) - Professor Roger Leigh, University of Adelaide
Secretary - Professor Jim Pratley, Charles Sturt University
ACDE - Australian Council of Deans of Education Incorporated President (8/1/10)
Professor Toni Downes 
Faculty of Education
Charles Sturt University
Bathurst NSW 2797
Lucy Rogers I Executive Officer
Building 6 I Monash University I Clayton VIC 3800
ph 03 9905 0713
mob 0421 439 644
Australian Council of Deans of Information and Communications Technology (ACDICT) President (2010), Peter Cole, Murdoch
Executive Officer Tony Koppi,
Australian Council of Deans of Nursing
Pauline Nugent,
Chairperson (2002),
Telephone: 0417 395 668
Australian Council of Deans of Science
President (2003)
Professor David Finlay
La Trobe University 
Australian Council of Engineering Deans (ACED)  Chair (2002)
Professor Barry Brady
John Agnew, Executive Officer (2001)
tel 08 8379 8293
Australian Council of University Art and Design Schools (ACUADS) ACUADS Chair, Prof. David Williams (2004)
telephone 02 6125 5805
Australian Institute of Physics


                                 ABN: 81 004 566 509
                                 PO Box 82 Parkville VIC 3052
                                 Phone: (03) 9326 6669
                                 Facsimile: (03) 9326 7272 
Heads of Physics Departments list
(AVCC) Deputy and Pro-Vice Chancellors' (Research) Committee 
Council of Australian Law Deans (CALD) (updated 11/6/07) Professor Michael Coper
Chair (from 2005)
ANU College of Law
Australian National University

Tel: + 61 2 6125 4124
Fax: + 61 2 6125 0097

Secretariat support for CALD is provided by:
Ms Jennifer Braid
Tel: + 61 2 6125 3090
Fax: + 61 2 6125 0150

Committee of Chairs of Academic Boards/Senates of Universities in NSW and ACT Professor Kevin McConkey (UNSW), Chair (2003)
Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand  President (17/6/09) 
Professor James A Angus
Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
University of Melbourne 
Melbourne Vic 3010
Tel: 03 8344 5894
Fax: 03 9347 7854

Personal Assistants:
Rita Costas (as above) Email: costasr@unimelb or Conor Hayes  Email:

Mary Solomon, Executive Officer 

Committee of Heads of Architecture Schools of Australasia  (CHASA)  P.O. Box 3373 Manuka
                             Canberra ACT 2603 
                             Phone: 6/273-1548
                             Fax: 6/273-1953
Heads of Architecture Scools / Programs
CADAD (Council of Australian Directors of Academic Development.) President (2008) 
A/Professor Sharon Parry, 
Southern Cross University 
CADAD Contact:
Fax: (02) 6773 6666
Phone: (02) 6773 6666
Council of Heads of Australian University Theatre Studies Institutions (CHAUTSI) Chair (October, 2002) 
Professor Adrian Kiernander 
Foundation Chair of Theatre Studies. 
Head of Department. 
University of New England 
Telephone (0267) 73 2149 or facsimile (0267) 73 3757 
Deans and Directors of Graduate Studies Chair, 2004
Professor Helene Marsh
07 4781 4325
James Cook University
Townsville QLD 4811
Australasian Council of Deans of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities (DASSH) (updated 1/12/08) President (2006-09) Professor Faith Trent
Executive Dean
Faculty of Education, Humanities, Law and Theology
Flinders University, ADELAIDE SA

Executive Officer-Ms Deborah Crossing
LPO Box 5044, University of Canberra, BRUCE ACT 2617
Ph 02 6201 5662, Fax 02 6201 2132

Australasian Council of Dental Schools (28/11/08)
Deans of Faculties of Dentistry and Dental Schools in Australia
Committee of Dental Deans of Australian and
New Zealand Dental Schools [no longer used 19/11/08, and no replacement found]
Chair, Committee of Deans 
Professor Newell Johnson (23/1/07)
                              Foundation Dean and Head of School
                              School of Dentistry and Oral Health 
                              Gold Coast Campus 
                              Griffith University PMB 50 
                              Gold Coast Mail Centre QLD 9726 
                              Telephone: 61 7 5552 8800 (switch) 
                              Telephone: 61 7 5678 0703 (direct) 
                              Fax: 61 7 5678 0708 
National Council of Heads of Tertiary Music Schools (NACHTMUS) Ian Wallace(2003)
PO Box 3428 South Brisbane QLD 4101
Tel 07 3875 6333 Fax 07 3875 6262 
Professors and Heads of Departments of Chemistry  [PHODS]
RACI National Secretariat, 
1/21 Vale Street, North 
Melbourne VIC 3051 
Ph: 03 9328 2033 
Fax: 03 9328 2670 

[CAUL Home Page] [What's New] [Information Providers - offers to CAUL]
[Survey Register] [Conference Register] [Highlights from the Press]
[Australian University Web Sites] [Other Web Sites] [Web Search Tools]

Send comments/suggestions/requests about this site ....

This site is written, compiled and maintained by Diane Costello, Executive Officer, CAUL.